The Results Are In

As a follow up on one of my recent posts, Putting Exercise To The Test, I wanted to share the results from my little experiment. I’m going to be honest, I didn’t make it to the gym at 7am, every morning… Ok, maybe not any of the mornings 🙂 (I’m not a morning person) BUT I did workout 5 days out of the week! A little more honesty, I didn’t run everyday… BUT (another but) I did 40+ minutes of strength training and a bit of walking. More importantly, I saw results, and not just physical ones. Exercise really is a kind of built in happiness drug. Seriously, I felt better about myself every time I left the gym. I accomplished something, it felt good. It made me feel more prepared to take on the rest of the day. I was more energized and focused. Let’s be realistic, obviously, everyday wasn’t all ‘sunshine and rainbows’ just because I got a workout in. However, for the most part, I felt better. As I mentioned previously, I keep a mood diary and the benefits show there as well.

Take a look at the mood diary from the days I worked out (left) vs the mood diary from the previous week (right)-

 

These are real results!! I was even a little surprised when I compared the charts. I knew I felt better, but seeing the results visually gave me even more motivation to keep exercising. One other quick, exciting takeaway from my experiment. After 5 days in the gym, I was able to do a pull-up! Yes, one pull-up, but I have been trying to do a pull-up for probably 2 years now so this is huge for me 🙂 A little determination and commitment goes a long way!

Did anyone else do an experiment of their own? Feel free to share any other advice or activities you may have that help you improve your health.

6 thoughts on “The Results Are In

  1. Love seeing the visual difference on the charts. What a motivator that must be! I did 30 minutes of aerobics today. First time I’ve done anything aerobic in a very long time. Mostly I just go for walks. First 10 minutes were the hardest. It did make me feel better for the rest of the day. My problem is keeping it going for more than a few days in a row. I fizzle out quickly. Great job on your experiment. I’m so glad the results were favorable.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, it is pretty cool to see, right?! Awesome to hear you followed through and did it! Keep it up 💪🏼That happens to most of us. I don’t feel like exercising half the time but I remind myself of how much better it makes me feel and just make myself go. Even if it’s not for long.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I can relate to that. I am much happier during the day when I go jogging in the morning. There’s a sense of accomplishment in it that even if many things don’t work out during the day you can still boast of having achieved your work out goals for the day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

